Tags

, , , , ,

Honestly, I am the last person to be writing about chocolate. Why, you ask? Because I am not crazy about it. There, I said it. However I think that makes me well equipped to talk about this subject as I won’t wolf down anything that is remotely chocolatey!

So back to the topic, the other day I was looking for something to finish of a light meal and a creamy hot chocolate shot was just enough to give that comforting chocolate fix.

I use the standard ingredients:

  • 1 cup Whole milk (don’t skimp on the richness with skimmed, we don’t want chocolate flavoured milk)
  • 1/4th cup Milk chocolate or dark chocolate pieces (depending on how bitter you like it)
  • 1 tbsp Dark cocoa powder ( I used Green and Blacks, for a clean cocoa flavour)
  • 2 tbsp Pouring cream (Optional)
As they say, the devil is in the detail. So I heat the milk in a pan (just under boiling point), add the chocolate pieces and cocoa and let it all melt, stirring continuously. Once most of the chocolate has melted, let the mixture cool a little and add the cream and whisk or blend it all till you have a thick creamy liquid. I add sugar to mine depending how sweet the chocolate is. The reason I use a mixture of cooking chocolate and cocoa powder is to give a creamy texture which I never seem to get with shop bought drinking chocolate.
I also like to add a few twists – A sliver of red chilli while warming the milk, dusting of cinnamon or some ground ginger. Also, if you do not wish to use regular whole milk, I have use almond milk and the result is just as good, nutty and creamier.
