Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love scented candles, in fact I just love all candles and I feel nothing makes a room look more inviting that the warm glow of a votive.

Ever since my first drugstore candle (Vanilla!), I have experimented with all sorts. I feel as with personal fragrances, the way you would like your home or living room to smell is entirely up to personal taste.Personally, I like to stay away from foodie smells, not sure of a room smelling of crème brulée. But as I said, that is personal taste.

I have also concluded that the expensive options in scented candles do deliver on the money and a little goes a long way. Some of you may think this is utter frivolous  but if like me, these candles help you calm down after a hectic day then it is worth going that extra bit.

Here are some that I am using at the moment and a few other favourites…

I wont state the obvious, but Diptyque really do make great candles. However they are rather expensive for everyday use. I bought this set of 3 minis from Space NK on sale for half price at £30. I think that was great value. I think they are still in stock here. I love the fresh Mediterranean fragrances.

These are a new find, they are from melt. They are handmade on a farm in Lancashire and I ordered them online from the website as they don’t have many shops around. They come in a handy tin which you can put away when not in use without gathering dust. I ordered two online – Neroli Rose Geranium and Noir, a combination of BERGAMOT, ROSE, SPICY CLOVE, PATCHOULI, SANDALWOOD AND SWEET VANILLA (sounds so warming!).  The silver tins cost £7.50 each and they are intense so I don’t need to have them burning for a long time. They smell lovely and are great value for money!

And finally a few of my favourites…

  1. Santal 26 from Le Labo £47 – I found this accidentally when I ordered a few samples of their fragrances (more on that later) and I fell in love! They are such good quality and so unique that I can almost justify the steep price tag (maybe not!). Santal 26 is a sensual smoky fragrance, perfect if you want that certain je ne sais quoi!
  2. Lavande tin candle from L’occitane £19 – I love L’occitane, their stores are like a mini Provencal oasis ! My favourite fragrance is the Ruban d’Orange range which is no longer available, hope it is back in summer. But Lavande is just as good. A simple lavender fragrance that isn’t synthetic.
  3. Feu de Bois from Diptyque £38 – My favourite winter fragrance, the room smells like a cosy log cabin and oh so warm!
  4. Rituals Hammam Candle £9.73 (on sale) – Rituals is a Dutch brand with some great bath products and the Hammam range smells like the spa’s in Morocco. It is my favourite bath time candle and great value.
  5. Archipelago Botanicals Kashmir Candle £15 – These are available at Selfridges and John Lewis stores in UK. This particular candle is part of the excursion range and has Sandalwood, Orange Blossom and Kashmir Vanilla. I love it on summer evenings.

I think bulk buying in sales with the deals makes them affordable. So, do you love scented candles? Which are your favourites?